Watching and waiting

It has been nearly three months since I last posted I think, how time gets away! For me the last little while has been a strange combination of things I would not normally do.

A highlight was a full-on 10 day women’s road cycling camp at the AIS where we were not only lab rats for a calcium study, but were put through some full-contact skills (there were ambulances involved) and some hardcore riding too. Turns out I am as hopeless bunny hopping a gutter on a road bike as I am on a mountain bike! I could have told them that for free…

I was selected for a women’s development squad for road cycling; traveled to Perth for two weeks for work; haven’t touched my mtb for months and on top of all that have been busy organising our wedding.

Perth was a refreshing break, even if it was for work. It is a beautiful place where fantastic cycle paths link the city to the beach via scenic meandering along the Swan River. I think I could definitely live in Perth.

perth

Once again winter has driven poor circulation-less me to the indoors and, with hideous chilblains and numb fingers, I have yet again become the June-July couch cyclist. Lots of dot following, lots of TV watching!

Tour Divide has come and gone with mixed emotions. Our Aussies went so incredibly well at the front end of the race; our buddies Jessie, Liam and Arran all gave stellar performances. The weather was very favourable this year for the TD riders and deep down I was sad about not being there. But now we have now turned our focus to a tour of another variety, Tour de France! Ah, isn’t it such a great month for bikes?

I’ve long since decided that WEMBO and 24hr racing is a passion in my mind but when I try and turn it into reality my body and uncoordinated self can’t handle it. So I have just been playing the waiting game. Waiting for something to come along and inspire me back into action.

And it just so happens that that ‘something’ unexpectedly fell in my lap last week and I jumped at the opportunity.

A few years ago Seb and I put Mongolia Bike Challenge back onto our ‘bucket list’ of events, when we decided instead to do Langkawi International Mtb Challenge. It was all booked and we were set to go straight after my 24 solo, but my shoulder disaster meant we actually ended up doing nothing. Neither of them.

That was until September 2013 , when we are going to Mongolia baby! Yeah!

Thanks to my amazing friend who gave up her chance to compete due to injury. It won’t be the same without you there and I don’t think I can live up to how well you performed when you raced it, but I’ll sure as heck give it my best shot!

Time for a month of serious hill training. In the mean time, here is something to give you all goosebumps and make you decide that you too in fact want to come race across the Siberian tundra!

One thought on “Watching and waiting

Leave a Reply

