Bringing it all together, or not really?

The last few days have seen a few tough months of training take the wind out of me a little. I know I have complained about my chilblains all winter, but the last few weeks I had to succumb to another cycling inflicted devil that is the saddle sore. Unfortunately it wasn’t from bad seat position, it was just an infected hair, turned boil, turned horrid pustule of a thing. So antibiotics and a few days rest was what the doctor instructed. Ugggh!

On Saturday I was back on the bike for a mad fun lap of Stromlo before jumping in the car and heading out for the fabulous Back Yamma Bigfoot 100km! A fun roadtrip with Mr Ed McDonald and Cam to the Back Yamma State Forest for a blistering fast lap of the 100km course.

The course is notorious for hidden tree stumps and sandy corners, so I took it pretty easy. The goal was to get around, test the legs and the bike as a last hit out before Mongolia.

In a pretty good ‘taking it easy time’ of 4:48, I was stoked. Plus I got some decent cash in the wallet, a new tyre and a wicked Bigfoot trophy! If you ever get the chance to race the Bigfoot, I highly recommend it. My writeup of the event last year is here. Fast, dusty, furious and awesome! They desperately need more chicks to participate too. Nothing technical about the course and only 1 or 2 little hilly bumps – why wouldn’t ya??

So yesterday I started my Mongolia packing mission, with a little sniff here and there. Yesterday morning the throat was sore and the head was heavy. Today it is clearly the flu with fever and chesty cough. Perfect prep! Hopefully by Sunday I will feel ok to ride!!!

So, apart from a less than ideal last few weeks, the base is there and the intensity is there, so I can’t wait for this amazing adventure to begin. You can follow us on the website: http://www.mongoliabikechallenge.com/. Last year they were very good at providing race updates, as there won’t be any mobile reception for us to be doing that on the Mongolian Steppe!

Nathan Versey, Robert Bleeker and I are riding together for 3FIDI-NIMBLEWEAR 1; Seb, Maria and Cam are 3FIDI-NIMBLEWEAR 2!

20130828-142316.jpg

BB.

Leave a Reply

